An imaginary experience of God’s holiness

21 Jan

It seemed to call me, this hill on the horizon. Surrounded by a white light that was shimmering like the sun on a windswept lake. I paused and emptied my hands of books and cares. I emptied my pockets and left it all there. Then quietly I stepped into the night. The stars created a canopy of sparkling gems.

My mind was racing and my heart beat with force. This majestic mountain seemed to rise as I neared it. Looking up I felt so small, Like a shaft of wheat swaying beneath the surging flames of a mighty fire. With trembling hands, I grasped the solid stones that aided my ascent. I was climbing, but a wind was lifting me, gently nudging me along.

With each step the sight became more glorious, colors and images bursting before me. And a probing, piercing light from above beckoned me on. I paused, worshiping the One whose passion created such beauty, and whose presence commanded such honor.

With one last step I reached the crest, I lifted my eyes and beheld holiness Of God. A brilliant white light, like a frozen bolt of lightning, dropped me to my knees. The air rushed from my lungs. I was overwhelmed with fear and peace. The words, “HOLY, HOLY, HOLY is the LORD ALMIGHTY” splashed beneath the starlight sky, echoing in my ears.

And then, my heart poured out its praise as the Lord, our God, reached out His hand. He drew me close and time stood still, as I stood by grace on His holy hill.

 

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Responses to “An imaginary experience of God’s holiness”

  1. Paul 06/05/2012 at 1:01 AM #

    Great piece – almost like a glimpse of heaven as well!

    • jhoy25 21/05/2012 at 3:27 AM #

      Thank you…. God bless….

  2. Evans Kachusha 17/06/2012 at 1:50 PM #

    This sounds very real. I am sure you talking about your real experience as it happened when God lifted you up in the sky.

Leave a Reply

